Inspirations from Movies

Standard

I watch movies for more than just the entertainment value, I watch to see how characters grow, stories unfold, and to be inspired. Books do much the same, but it is hard to find the time to read an entire book (I still read, just go through movies a lot quicker).

I’ve been caught up in dystopian stories of late, just as many are. Two stand out for me: The Hunger Games and Divergent. Both brought out great emotion in me. I was so involved with the characters that I could feel their cry out for revolution. These characters stood up and said, “No more!” I think it’s incredibly powerful to stand up for what’s right, to stare injustice in the face, pretty much to be brave. It takes a lot of courage to do these things. It’s very admirable.

The point is these writers, story tellers, and directors have found a way to reach their audience, to move them, and to create large sales. I find it important to study the greats, and today’s best sellers, box office hits etc. to see what works and to learn how to create an effective story. I hope to move my audience with my characters and their struggles.

Leave a Reply

