How I became a writer

Standard

I remember when I first realized I wanted to write. In sixth grade, we had a designated reading time at middle school. I didn’t have a book so one of my friends lent me one. It was “Ella Enchanted” by Gail Carson Levine. I couldn’t put the book down and to this day it is my all-time favorite book. Rereading it time and time again, I am always bittersweet at the end. It is such a wonderful book, but each time it comes to an end. I was torn that I would no longer follow along the heroines journey or her love story with the prince.

At 15 years old, I thought, “Why let it end? Why not write my own book, then stories would never have to end.” I started a ridiculous book that will never see the light of day. The next book became a fantasy series that I’ve been working on for 12 years. And I really don’t see it ending. Other authors create worlds and never leave them, why should I? The date of publication will come soon, when I’m ready. Until til I write on.

How did you start your writing journey? What inspired you to put that pen to paper for the first time?

Leave a Reply

