Where Did All The Time Go?

Standard

I remember I had a lot of time when I was younger. The hours I spent pinning pictures up on my walls, organizing and typing out every song on my CD’s, writing fantasy stories, or just chatting on the phone for hours with my girl friends.

Today, I look at my three-year-old. He has zero responsibility and no worries aside from playing and eating. He did have to learn everything a kid needs to learn. I’ll give him that.

I used to have time. Not anymore.

Today, my life is packed with responsibility. A mother and housekeeper’s duties, a writer, a member of a writers group, a girlfriend, a friend, a budding business owner, a blogger, a reader, and a worker just trying to meet the bills. No wonder it’s hard to find the time to breathe! Even in the down times, I feel unproductive and lazy. I should be marketing, researching on the Internet, or writing on my WIP, and the list goes on.

My time is filled with everything I have to do and things I love to do. But I do feel overwhelmed by it all, and find myself immobilized by stress. Maybe a perspective shift is in order? Or a better priorities list?

What helps you juggle all the responsibilities of life? How do you manage your time?

3 thoughts on “Where Did All The Time Go?

  1. I also have difficulty finding the time to do everything I need to do in life, much less the things I want to do.

    However, it helps to build time into your daily schedule for writing, even if it is only 15 to 30 minutes a day. At first this might be difficult (I know it was for me) but creating a routine for yourself is super helpful.

    I need to get back into my routine of writing (or working on my WIP every day)– sometimes even waking up a half an hour earlier helps me get some writing in each day.

    • lifewritermegan

      Eek a typo. Thanks!
      Good advice. I think I’ve made some bad writing habits. And should get back to just the creative flow more often.

Leave a Reply

