On Being a Mother

Standard

I’m going to shift gears and have a little more insight to my non-writing life. Can’t always be immersed in plots and character sketches, right?

I have a three year old boy. Actually 3 1/2. He’s proud to say he’s almost 4. Then he will be 5, then 6. He’s my angel baby of course! I adore my son for the most part. And am irritated other times. I pulled him out of daycare a month ago. Now he hangs with us old folks who don’t want to play all the time or have time to do so. Anyhow he’s picked up some habits of late:

Calling names. Telling me he doesn’t love me anymore. (Side note: he just climbed on my back and ran off to get his stuffed animal kitty. Now wanting a piggy back ride. Kids!)

I’m back. He’s got some rude habits going on. And now I have to change these things–to teach him better ways to go about things, to learn to respect others. He needs to be taught how to act, how to treat others, and to be kind. He’s such a blank slate. I’m surprised when he just doesn’t get things, or is so off in what he says.

There is beauty in his innocence. In the way he laughs really loud when the adults make a joke and laugh. He just wants to join in. Or the way he thought he scared me this morning and laughed about it, then wanted to cuddle.

Fortunately, the weather of late has been good and we’ve gone to the park. And we have play dates with other children. He needs those times with kids to be a kid. He’s a smart little guy and mischievous too. So much energy–it must be released! He runs a lot. Sweat mats his hair.

Overall, it’s a tough job to be a parent. A full time job! He’s worth it. Mostly, my little guy is a delight. Just needs help going through his stages. I’m a proud momma.

3 thoughts on “On Being a Mother

  1. I love the fleeting nature of children’s emotions. I find it a good reminder to relax and accept every moment as it is, whether blissful or maddening.

    Thanks for stopping by and following Creative Writing Ibiza. Best wishes with your writing.

  2. Looks like I have a heap to look forward to. Still, I can just take them back if it doesn’t work out a couple of years down the track, right? What’s that? No refunds? Oh hell… Can I at least train them to be my book-devouring little minion? I am guessing my writing time will be curtailed somewhat by a daughter pouncing on my back demanding similar piggyback rides.

    On an unrelated note, I just nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger award, on account of me enjoying your writing-related posts. No pressure to accept it or pass it along (especially if you’ve just done one of these), but I thought of your blog so I wanted to give you the award. If you accept it you can nominate as many or as few people as you want. Link: http://drsylvesterfiction.com/2014/07/22/blog-award-nomination-99356-words/

Leave a Reply

