6 Aspects of Being a Novel Writer

Standard

Being a novel writer has it’s pros and cons. Here are a few. Add to the list if you please!

1) No guarantees on ever making a penny with your writing. The money you make may never amount to the time spent working on your WIP.

2) Telling people you are a writer who doesn’t have anything published, and non-writers can’t understand why you haven’t published yet. Having to explain why, and they still don’t get it. The reasons being simply I’m not ready to publish. I don’t have a piece ready for publication. Period.

3) Having to pay bills by doing a day job you don’t enjoy because you haven’t made money from your writing passion, thus leaving you unfulfilled, aimless, and ________ (that’s for you to fill in).

4) Spending all your waking hours plotting, scheming, analyzing, writing, editing, brainstorming, etc. about your novel. Consequently, not doing other things… Or when you do those other things you feel like you should be working on your story.

5) Having copious amounts of either “I’m the best writer ever!” or “I’m the worst writer ever.”

6) Knowing even though you are broke, working a job you don’t enjoy, and being cursed by a story that must be told, you still can’t imagine the world any other way than you writing that novel. You are compelled to do so and nothing will stop you.

So here’s to all the angst-filled writers out there! I, too, feel the pains and joys of novel writing.

5 thoughts on “6 Aspects of Being a Novel Writer

    • Megan Sutherland

      Oh I tell people what I think lol. I try to look at why did the book make it to the bestseller list, and what I could’ve done better! If they made it, why can’t I? I come up with most huge books that are poorly written, they simply hit the market right and took off from there. Luck?

  1. These ring true with me… the emotional consequences of being a writer. Especially, #3 and #4 hit me. All the time and energy I’ve spent thinking about the stories I’m working on, while trying to do my day job. It can be incredibly frustrating. But part of me feels lucky that I have a day job to make money, and that I’m very lucky to feel enthusiastic about creating stories. I guess there are loads of people out there who don’t feel compelled to create (be it stories, music, movies, paintings, photos, whatever). And I think that I’d much rather have the frustration over dealing with a day job while being compelled to create than not have that urge to create at all. Great list in your post; it’s good to read of someone else going through the same experiences. Best wishes on your writing!

    • Megan Sutherland

      Nicely said. It can feel like a curse being a writer. I like to think we are special because we can look at people and situations in life with a different outlook. How can I use this in my book? That horrible boss I had years ago and her nitpicking ways. Or the way I felt when… That’s what story writing is all about, talking real life and making it a story.
      I am glad to have a day job too. I’ll keep that hope that writing will become my full time job. Here’s to wishful thinking and hard work!

Leave a Reply

