To My 4 Year Old on His Birthday

Standard

Today my son turns four. How he got so old? I don’t know. Guess it means I’m getting old too. He’s come so far in four years. I remember my sweet baby boy. How handsome he was. Innocent. Perfect. Even with his little flaws, he’s my baby. Holding him for the first time was the most incredible thing I’ve experienced. And first baby I ever held. It just was right. Meant to be. I was a single momma at the time, but I had lots of support from my folks and things were good and safe.

He started growing up. Now he’s in preschool learning to handle life and social interactions. He’s smart. I say that because he can prove it! Teaching him is fun. We read that Dr. Seuss book “Hop on Pop” — the best learning to read book ever! He gets so proud to get the words and read through pages before having to stop to ask for help. Each day he makes more progress. Last time we read, I gave him a high five…He misses my hands and slaps my face. I should’ve got that on camera!

He’s a funny kid. Such a sense of humor. Oh and he repeats so much I say and do. Not always a great thing. He has no concept of personal space. He’s always in my face, climbing on my back, having to follow me around, and is sad to see me go. I love that he loves his momma, but have to teach coping skills too. Overall he’s a great kid and a typical four year old little guy.

Happy Birthday to my boy!

Does anyone out there have advice for a child’s fourth year? What to expect?

3 thoughts on “To My 4 Year Old on His Birthday

Leave a Reply

