Beginnings

Standard

In my previous post, I mentioned I’m not the greatest reader because my attention span is limited and I’m a busy person. I set down many books because they trip me up and slow me down, or just plain confuse me.

First and foremost, I don’t want to be bored by a book. I could attribute this to living in an age of instant gratification and movies that are POW! right in your face, non-stop action. Books should be the same, right? I just want to be entertained. That’s why I read.

Other things also cause me to set down a book. In the first chapter, I look for these things that will trip me up. I have personal problems about prologues, so all of those books are out. Too many characters and too many people talking can really throw me. I also like having the scene/setting set up so I know where we are, what world is this? Who is the main character? I want to know the basic setting, but for it to be exciting enough to keep me reading on.

These are a few things that trip me up at the beginning of a novel. If I’m not getting it right away, I’m not going to keep trying to get it throughout the rest of the book.

Do you have things that trip you up when you rest a novel? Or am I just being too particular and missing out on some great books?

One thought on “Beginnings

  1. Too particular In your approach to reading Smegs, not at all ! its just that we know your a busy Mom and holding multiple jobs that pay squat !..your the best of the best !! I have to go now, theirs a homeless man that’s talking to me right now in the Rosauers cafe trying to convince me that i am his father and i owe 68 years back allowance, “and” he is telling me mom is cheating on me with the milk man ….

Leave a Reply

